top of page

NARMC EMS Hosts First Responder Class in Newton County

Recently, North Arkansas Regional Medical Center’s (NARMC) EMS crews taught a first responder class to 25 participants in Newton County. Twenty-three volunteer firefighters along with one sheriff’s department employee and one office of emergency management employee graduated from the class.

The 48-hour class featured an American Heart Association Certified CPR course, training on patient assessment, packing and movement of patients, treatment of traumatic injuries and therapy for medical conditions. The class spans over a two-month period.

NARMC EMS primary instructors, Paramedic Supervisor Danny Smith, Paramedic Charles Redline, EMT Kelly Dodson and EMT Amanda Perse, are stationed in Newton County.

“First responders are a key element in providing quality emergency care in our rural communities and we are proud to be able to offer this course,” NARMC EMS Director Brian Unruh said. Located in Harrison, Arkansas, NARMC is a 176-bed hospital and medical system with a team of 800 dedicated healthcare professionals. The medical center is committed to providing the best in care, close to home for residents of Boone, Marion, Newton, Searcy and Carroll counties. One of the Top 100 rural hospitals according to The Rural Health Policy Institute, NARMC has numerous 5-star ratings from Healthgrade and scores in the 98th percentile for patient satisfaction in the Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Ratings.


Left to Right: Amanda Perse of Western Grove, Jeremiah Harper with Newton County Sheriff’s Office, Josh Campbell of Hasty, Josicha Faught of Jasper, Beverly Berry with the Office of Emergency Management, Louanne Lawson of Parthenon, John Berry of Deer, Becky Warlick of Compton, Chris Helmuth of Mt. Sherman, Ashley Campbell of Hasty, Cody Hudson of Parthenon (kneeling), Shane Kilgore of Jasper, Lauren Myurs of Crooked Creek, Carissa Kidder of Mt Sherman, Lalani Pomatto of Jasper, Todd Parker of NARMC Jasper EMS station, Staci Lowery of Western Grove, Johnny Phillips of Jasper, Cindy Winters of Deer, Sarah Scott of Jasper, Adam Dyer of Jasper and Damian Fitzpatrick of Parthenon. (Not Pictured) Rosemary Faught of Jasper, Dennis Brand of Deer, Nancy Jones of Deer and Rick Wishon of Mt. Sherman.

Your Health. Your Safety.
Our Mission. 

  • Grey Facebook Icon

Follow Us!

No information or content on this website is to be taken as implicit or explicit advice. Please contact a medical professional for guidance.

Photos on this website are provided by Vowell Publishing, Inc. and NARMC.

bottom of page